The Holy Science of Sri Yukteswar

Picture

I never felt a connection to Paramahansa Yogananda, I always felt he was somewhat of a fruity spiritualist, but I felt a strong connection to his guru Sri Yukteswar, his name meanining Honorable or Venerable Yoked to Ishwar.  His Holy Science had long been on my reading list and about a year ago I was able to mark it off.  While reading it I became aware of how similar he was to me in lots of ways.  One of my favorite scriptures in the Shiva Sutras is 1:13, Iccha shaktir Uma Kumari,

1-13 The power of the will is the playful uma.

Which means that the yogi who yokes himself to Shiva becomes Shiva.  Ishwara is Shiva, they are one and the same, reflections of each other, inbreaths and outbreaths of the same manifestation.

Ishvara (Sanskrit: ईश्वर, Īśvara) In ancient texts of Indian philosophy, Ishvara means supreme soul, Brahman (Highest Reality), ruler, king or husband depending on the context.[1] In medieval era texts, Ishvara means God, Supreme Being, personal god, or special Self depending on the school of Hinduism.[2][3][4]

In Shaivism, Ishvara is synonymous with “Shiva“, as the “Supreme lord over other Gods” in the pluralistic sense, or as an Ishta-deva in pluralistic thought. In Vaishnavism, it is synonymous with Vishnu.  http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ishvara

When I read his book I realized that like myself he transcended all religions and like myself he was a philologist that worked in proto-indo-european and like myself he recognized Shiva in Lord Jesus and saw the Christ as a Guru of the Highest attainment.  What was interesting to me is that as I was reading this book I realized that the book was flawed, the same two pages, page 38 and 39 repeated twice, once after the other and I took this as a sign or an implicature that these two pages were especially important for me.

Gurumayi Chidvilasananda told me that I was brave when she gave me courageous when she gave me shaktipat initiation.  Moral Courage comes from God and God is the Guru.

gautama

The earliest written form of the Germanic word God (always, in this usage,capitalized[17]) comes from the 6th-century ChristianCodex Argenteus. The English word itself is derived from the Proto-Germanic * ǥuđan. The reconstructed Proto-Indo-European form* ǵhu-tó-m was likely based on the root * ǵhau(ə)-, which meant either “to call” or “to invoke”.[18]

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/God#Etymology_and_usage

god (n.) Look up god at Dictionary.comOld English god “supreme being, deity; the Christian God; image of a god; godlike person,” from Proto-Germanic *guthan (cognates: Old Saxon, Old Frisian, Dutch god, Old High German got, German Gott, Old Norse guð, Gothic guþ), from PIE *ghut- “that which is invoked” (cognates: Old Church Slavonic zovo “to call,” Sanskrit huta-“invoked,” an epithet of Indra), from root *gheu(e)- “to call, invoke.”  http://www.etymonline.com/index.php?term=god

3099__42297.1410989131.1280.1280 (1)

One thought on “The Holy Science of Sri Yukteswar

Leave a Reply

